DIY: Painted Basket

I’ve been loving the striped baskets I’ve been seeing in stores and wanted to find one to use as a laundry hamper for the nursery.  Although I love this one from West Elm and this one from Serena and Lily the price tags were a bit too steep for a laundry hamper in a baby’s room.

I decided I would try and DIY my own version. I found a great basket at HomeSense and chose some Para Paints and got to work.

{ Original Basket  - thehomeslice.ca }

I decided on a simple stripe pattern since I wasn’t sure how a more complicated design would work with the existing weave of the basket.  At first I was going to tape out the stripes but because of the weave it was easiest to paint directly on the basket. The whole project was surprisingly easy and quick.

{ Painting in Projects – thehomeslice.ca }

I used two different colours on the basket – Para Paints Cannes (P5020- 52D) and Sweetie Pie (P5086-41) both in Interior Latex Semi Gloss and painted stripes in different widths.  I contemplated adding a third stripe in white but loved the look of the two so much I didn’t want to wreck it. I love how you can still see the original weave and straw of the basket in combo with the pop of colour from the paint.  Here is the finished project in the nursery:

{ Laundry basket with painted stripes – thehomeslice.ca }

All in all a quick and easy DIY project that adds a pop of colour and pattern to any basket.  This project was so easy that I’m thinking of painting a few square baskets to spruce up the storage in the laundry room!

* Paints for this project were provided by Para Paints as a part of my participation in the Para Paints Blog Crew.  I have not been compensated for this post and all opinions expressed are my own.

 
This entry was posted in Decor, DIY, HomeSlice, Our House, PARA Paints Blog Crew and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DIY: Painted Basket

  1. Painter says:

    I agree, two stripes looks great. It’s difficult to know when to stop.

Thoughts?

