I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream – ice cream cake!

When asked what kind of birthday cake he’d like this year, my husband said ice cream cake.  My first thought was to make sure to add Dairy Queen to my list of stops for grocery shopping.  Then I got to thinking – how difficult could it possible be to make my own ice cream cake?

Honestly, it was pretty easy although a bit messy (got to be expected when you’re using ingredients that melt…)  I checked out a few recipes online and then decided to throw together my own version…  Step-by-step recipe/instructions and photos of the end results below.  Although I’ll admit not the prettiest looking cake (I’m a cake decorating class drop-out) – it tasted delicious!!

Homemade Ice Cream Cake Instructions/Recipe

Step 1 – Make the crust – mix Oreo Cookie Crumbs with chocolate fudge sauce until sticky, then pat down in the bottom of your pan

Use a springform pan so the sides just pop off and you can serve the cake)

Step 2 – Add the first layer of ice cream.  I picked a brick of vanilla since it was easy to cut and pack down into the pan.  Then add a layer of Oreo cookie crumbs and fudge.  You can also add extra treats ( I added Reeses Pieces).

Leave the ice cream out on the counter for a few minutes so it gets a bit soft.  It will be easier to pack into the cake pan.

Step 3 – Add a layer of chocolate ice cream, then another layer of vanilla ice cream

Step 4 – Top off the cake with a layer of whip cream.  Smooth over the top to make a great surface for decorating.  Freeze overnight.

Step 5 – Decorate with icing or candy!

{ Layer of Oreo Crumbs, Fudge Sauce and Reeses Pieces things }

{ Side View }

{ the top – not the most beautiful but so yummy }

{ after a few bites! }

This entry was posted in HomeSlice, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream – ice cream cake!

  1. Yummy! When can I come over and you can make this for me? 😉

  2. The Husband says:

    It was the coolest cake I’ve ever had!

  3. Natasha says:

    Looks delicious!

Thoughts?

