Twelve Days of Cookies Guest Post – Day One

  

Candy Cane Bark

Today the HomeSlice is starting “The Twelve Days of Cookies” – a series of guest posts featuring some fabulous holiday recipes!  To start things off we have one of my favorite bloggers Shannon from What’s Up Whimsy.  Enjoy!

 

 

Guest Blogger: Shannon

Blog: What’s Up Whimsy

About me: I am a wife and mom to a one-year old son…and a wannabe interior designer. I would describe my style as “contemporary whimsy, with a hint of vintage”. I am constantly thinking about how I can re-decorate and I spend hours creating mood boards for each room of my house. My friends and family are now asking me for advice on their homes and design projects and I love every minute of it! What’s Up Whimsy has become my passion! I am constantly thinking of what I can post next and how I can get more traffic to the blog. I love art and have started a pretty extensive and eclectic collection in my house. Not only do I love art, but I love supporting local artists and try to attend as many art shows and sales as I can – big or small. I love reading design blogs and shelter magazines. I could spend hours on Craigslist searching for the next piece of furniture that I can repurpose into something new. Come and check me out!

 

What is your holiday décor theme/favorite holiday décor item? Banners all the way! I currently have two holiday-themed banners up in my house right now. I recently bought a “Happy Holidays” origami banner from Etsy seller jikits and I love it!


What is your favorite holiday tradition? Even though I am 27 years old, I have not missed a morning at my parent’s house to open presents. My Mom gets my siblings and I pretty wicked stockings, so the tradition is, we can open our stockings before our parents get up, but we have to wait until they get downstairs to open our presents. I just love sharing the stocking gifts with my sisters and brother and then the anticipation of wondering what was inside the boxes underneath the tree.

What movie is a must for the holiday season? Love Actually. I watch it, at least once, every Christmas! It is one of my favourite movies and because it takes place during Christmas time, it just makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. And Hugh Grant and Colin Firth always make me smile!

Why did you choose this recipe? Although I have never made this recipe myself, my Mom makes it every year and I LOVE it! Not only does it taste sooooo good, it looks very Christmas-y with the red and green candy cane. I would highly recommend making it this holiday season!

Candy Cane Bark

Ingredients:

• 12 ounces (about 2 cups) dark chocolate, chopped, or chocolate chips
• 12 ounces (about 2 cups) white chocolate, chopped, or white chocolate chips
• 8 peppermint candy canes

Instructions:

  1. Unwrap the candy canes and place them in a food processor. Pulse on/off several times for 5-10 seconds each, until the canes have been crushed into small pieces. Alternately, place the candy canes in a large Ziploc bag and seal tightly. Use a rolling pin to roll/smash the candy canes until they are the size you desire.
  2. Prepare a cookie sheet by covering it with smooth aluminum foil.
  3. Melt or temper the dark chocolate. Pour the chocolate onto the prepared cookie sheet and use an offset spatula or knife to spread it to an even thickness, a little more than 1/8″ thick. The chocolate does not have to reach all sides of the sheet, as it will be broken up later anyhow. Place the tray in the refrigerator to firm up while you prepare the white chocolate.
  4. While the dark chocolate hardens, melt or temper the white chocolate. Stir in most of the candy cane bits, reserving about a quarter of the mixture to put on top.
  5. Remove the tray from the refrigerator and spread the white chocolate in an even layer over the dark chocolate.
  6. While the white chocolate is still wet, sprinkle the remaining candy cane pieces over the entire surface evenly. Press down very slightly to ensure they stick. Place the tray back in the refrigerator to firm up for 30 minutes.
  7. Once the peppermint bark bark is completely set, break into small, uneven pieces by hand.

This entry was posted in HomeSlice, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Twelve Days of Cookies Guest Post – Day One

  1. Tes says:

    Oh those just looks so adorable and yummy! I need to try this for the holidays 🙂

  2. This is a great series Emilija, can’t wait to read all the posts!

    Wonderful post Shannon this recipe sounds yummy.

  3. Thank you so much for including me in your fun series Emilija! I had a lot of fun doing it! And I can’t wait to see what the other bloggers come up with!

  4. What a great series!
    And Shannon, that bark looks so good!

  5. Linda says:

    OMG! Everyone needs to make these little treats. I tried it last night, and I can honesty say that Shannon saved my life. I’m not a baker and this is such an easy recipe. I have a cookie exchange this weekend and it was super easy to whip up 6 dozen “cookies” for this.
    Merry Christmas Shannon!!! And thank you!

Thoughts?

