Twelve Days of Cookies Guest Post – Day Two

  

Spritz Cookies

My good friend Jenn is the HomeSlice’s second guest blogger for “The Twelve Days of Cookies”.  Today she is sharing one of her most favorite holiday family recipes.  Happy baking!

 

Guest Blogger: Jenn

About me: I simply love to entertain. I really enjoy hosting evenings like girls’ night of vino and appetizers, holiday parties or impromptu get togethers with friends. I love it all! My favourite part are all the little details that make everyone feel welcomed and the evening rememberable. Making sure my guest have a wonderful time is always top of mind.

What is your holiday décor theme/favorite holiday décor item? There are so many holiday décor themes that I love. My preferred style is a mixture of traditional, whimsical and slightly modern. I love the eclectic look of combining many different themes from items like my silver raindeer stocking holders to my porcelin gingerbread house to my peacock bird tree ordament. When decorating for the holidays, having a sense of humour always helps ideas and tastes blend together, such as having a psychodelic, colour changing angel at the top of my tree — compliments of my better half!

What is your favorite holiday tradition and why did you choose this recipe? The holiday season is by-far my favourite time of the year and full of many traditions I hold dear to my heart. One tradition I look forward to each year is baking cookies with my mom and sister. We’ve been making holiday treats since my sister and I were just old enough to stand on stepping stools to reach the kitchen counter. Each year, we spend a full day baking about six different types of cookies and bars while listing to Christmas music. The ‘Sprizter’ cookie has always been a family favourite as it is light yet sweet, and the cookie press lets you make a variety of delicate shapes.

What movie is a must for the holiday season? The holiday season is never complete without watching Love Actually!

Spritz Cookies — Affectionally referred to as ‘Spritzers’ with my family

Ingredients:

1 cup (250 ml) softened butter
1-1/4 cups (300 ml) sifted icing surgar
1 egg
1 tsp (5ml) high-quality vanilla extract
2 cups (500 ml) all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp (1 ml) salt

Optional:
Colour sugar sprinkles
Icing sugar

Instructions:

  • In bowl, cream butter. Once thoroughly creamed, slowly blend in the sugar and beat until light and fluffy.
  • Mix in egg and vanilla.
  • Combine flour with salt and then slowly blend with creamed mixture.
  • Place the dough into the fridge to chill for 20 minutes. This will ensure the dough does not become too soft to hold shapes.
  • Fill the cookie press with batches of dough and press out shapes onto ungreased baking sheets.
  • Bake at 375F for 5-7 minutes or just until the edges begin to brown.
  • Let cookies cool on wax paper. Sprinkle with icing surger for snowflake effect. If using coloured sugar, sprinkle sugar on cookies before placing in oven.

{ The Cookie Press }

{ Spritzing the batter! }

{ All ready for baking }

{ Lovely holiday treats }

This entry was posted in HomeSlice, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Twelve Days of Cookies Guest Post – Day Two

  1. Liana says:

    Looks Yum!!!
    Jenn, you’ve inspired me to do some holiday baking this weekend…and I think I’ll pop Love Actually on the telly while the cookies are in the oven!

    Thanks Emi for such a great series of posts!

  2. Larissa Gaudet says:

    Jenn,
    what a fabulous tradition the women in your family have for this time of year…nothing says Christmas like spending time with family in the kitchen (and watching Love Actually)! I can’t wait to make these yummy treats and serve them when I host my very first family Christmas this year.
    Happy Holidays!

Thoughts?

