Twelve Days of Cookies – Day Four

Sugar Cookies

Today’s cookie post is a staple for many holiday celebrations.  This recipe for sugar cookies is courtesy of my friend Liana who bakes these every year!  I always find that these are some of the funnest cookies to decorate and share with friends.  Enjoy!

 

 

Guest Blogger: Liana

About me: I was born and raised in Toronto in a family with strong Lithuanian roots. My creativity was always nurtured while growing up so perhaps I have that to thank for my love of crafting, jewelry design and typography/fonts today. I enjoy learning to cook while listening to my favorite radio program ‘This American Life’, travel, crisp Autumn days, exploring my neighbourhood and the company of my friends and family, and a nice bottle of wine.

What is your holiday décor theme/favorite holiday décor item? I like to keep it simple – white lights and handmade felt snowflakes in the window.

What is your favorite holiday tradition? I grew up with a crazy Eastern European family – it wouldn’t be Christmas without heated family debates served with a traditional meal.

What movie is a must for the holiday season? Muppets!

Why did you choose this recipe? I have fond memories baking these cookies with my mom. I would always bake a decorate a batch for my friends, wrap them in pretty packages and share over the Christmas break.

Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:
3/4 cups softened butter
1 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
1 tsp Vanilla
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tiny pinch of salt
Sprinkles, icing and any other fun bobs to decorate

Instructions:

  • In large bowl, beat butter with sugar until fluffy
  • Beat in egg and vanilla
  • In separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt
  • Stir into butter mixture in 3
  • Divide in half, flatten into discs
  • Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate until firm, about 1 hour
  • (Tip: if you’re making ahead, you can refrigerate for up to 24 hours.)
  • On lightly floured surface, roll out each disc to 1/4-inch thickness.
  • Use your favorite cookie cutters to stamp out as many cookies as possible and place on cookie sheet.
  • Bake on 350°F, rotating and switching pans halfway through, until light golden on bottoms and edges, 10 to 12 minutes.
  • Transfer to racks; let cool completely. (Tip – these can be frozen for up to a month)
  • Decorate!

This entry was posted in HomeSlice, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Twelve Days of Cookies – Day Four

  1. Jennifer Beck says:

    Liana, these look wonderful!

Thoughts?

