Twelve Days of Cookies – Day Twelve!!!!

Candy Cane Cookies

We are at twelfth days of cookies!  The last few weeks of cookie recipes from all of the guest bloggers have been so fabulous.  It has been a great way for me to refresh my baking list for the holidays.  Today, for the last day of cookies I’m going to share one of my own favourite holiday recipes!  Enjoy!

About me: I love home decor and entertaining and all that comes with it!  When I’m not sharing my ideas on theHomeSlice I love to travel and check out new cultures – especially new cuisines.

What is your holiday décor theme/favorite holiday décor item? I love a mix of traditional and modern things – our Christmas tree is a mix of exactly that.  We have some new ornaments and the others are mine from when I was little.  I also love some fresh holiday greenery – it is just the thing to make it smell like the holidays!

What is your favorite holiday tradition?
My favorite holiday tradition is spending Christmas Eve with my family.  We have a traditional Lithuanian Christmas Eve complete with twelve special dishes that range from smoked fish to bean salads and my grandmother’s homemade compote.  The best part is spending time together as a family.

What movie is a must for the holiday season? It is a tie between A Christmas Story and Love Actually.

Why did you choose this recipe? I remember making this as a kid – we loved the two different colours of dough and making them together with my Mom.  Fun for everyone!

Ingredients:

Red dough
½ cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1/3 cup plus 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
1 egg yolk
¼ teaspoon almond extract
2 teaspoons red food colouring
1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

Plain dough
½ cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1/3 cup plus 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
1 egg yolk
¼ teaspoon almond extract
1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

Instructions:

  • Preheat an oven to 425F.
  • To make the red dough:
  • In a bowl, using an electric mixer on medium speed, beat the butter until soft and creamy.
  • Slowly beat in the sugar, and when it is fully incorporated, beat in the egg yolk, almond extract and food colouring until well blended.
  • Beat in the flour until well blended. Shape the dough into a ball, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 15 minutes.
  • To make the plain dough:
  • Repeat the process for the red dough, omitting the food colouring. Shape into a ball, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 15 minutes.
  • Tear off a walnut-sized piece of red dough, and using the palms of your hands, roll it out on aluminum foil to form a rope about ¼ inch in diameter and 5 inches long.
  • Do the same with the plain dough.
  • Twist the ropes together and then bend the top into a curve to make a candy cane. Place on an ungreased baking sheet about 1 inch apart. Repeat until all the dough is used.
  • Bake for about 8 minutes, or until lightly browned on the bottom. .
  • Transfer the cookies to a wire rack to cool. To store, pack in an airtight container in single layers, separated by waxed paper.
  • Makes about 30 cookies
  • This recipe can be found at Style@Home

This entry was posted in HomeSlice, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Twelve Days of Cookies – Day Twelve!!!!

  1. Kat says:

    These are my all time favorite Christmas cookies! I’m making them today actually! I can’t remember a Christmas in my life without them. Really great recipe to share.

Thoughts?

