Make your own bunting

One project I haven’t shared with you yet is the bunting that I made for one of our summer parties. I’ve been wanting to try make my own bunting for awhile now.  I love bunting, it is festive, fun, bright and a great decor accent for entertaining.  I wanted to make something that I could use for different events – birthdays, BBQ’s, you name it.

Overall making the bunting was pretty straightforward and quick.  I started by picking my fabric and cutting into bunting flags using this free template from Chickabug (what I love is that you can customize depending on the size you want).

Then I sewed the edges on each flag (I followed these fabulous instructions from Joyful Abode), turned them inside out and finished by edging with a black satin ribbon (folded in half and then ironed).  I ended up with four strands – two long and two short.  Here is how they turned out:

I can’t wait to use the bunting again for the next party!!!  I’m almost tempted to make more…

This entry was posted in DIY, HomeSlice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Make your own bunting

  1. Looks fantastic! Great job 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    SUPER cute, Emilija! Thanks for linking to my template – I’m glad it came in handy! : )

  3. Pingback: Beer Tasting Party « the HomeSlice

  4. Cindy says:

    Hi, I love the buntings and have been meaning to sew some fabric ones myself. Such a great and easy way to decorate. (found your blog via byw ecourse) 🙂

  5. karla says:

    I HAVE MADE THESE IN THE PAST…I CUT OUT FELT LETTERS TO SPELL ‘HAPPY BIRTHDAY JADYN’ WHEN SHE WAS ONE AND THE FAMILY PUTS IT UP EVERY YEAR…I ALSO MADE CHRISTMAS ONE SPELLING OUT ‘MERRY CHRISTMAS’ AND SENT IT OFF TO MY SON

  6. Pingback: Mirrored Bunting – the Homeslice nursery picks « the HomeSlice

Thoughts?

